Hall of Fame ATP WTA

‘Their input is integral’ – fans influence ATP & WTA Hall of Fame nominees

Fans have been able to impact Hall of Fame inductions for a few years, as they will this weekend, backing the ATP and WTA nominees.

Among the nominees are WTA star Cara Black, 2008 French Open champion Ana Ivanovic, 2015 US Open champion Flavia Pennetta and doubles Career Grand Slam champion Lisa Raymond.

On the men’s side, former ATP world number ones and Roland Garros champions Carlos Moya and Juan Carlos Ferrero are up for consideration.

“The six nominees named to the International Tennis Hall of Fame’s 2022 ballot have all achieved remarkable results on tennis’ biggest stages,” ITHF President Stan Smith said.

“Grand Slam titles, topping the world rankings, Davis Cup and Billie Jean King Cup victories.

“Their successes are highlights of tennis history. It’s a pleasure to recognise their accomplishments with the honour of International Tennis Hall of Fame nomination.”

Fan voting was introduced to the ITHF process in 2018. The three most popular players in the fan vote receive bonus percentage points on their official voting group result.

The official voting group of professional tennis journalists and historians, plus Hall of Famers, will deliberate in the months following the fan vote.

CEO of the ITHF, Todd Martin, added his words to those of president Smith.

“Tennis fans are discerning, knowledgeable, and passionate,” he stated.

“Their input into who becomes a Hall of Famer is integral to the ITHF’s induction procedure.”

Fans have until Sunday, 31st October to vote for their favourites at