Davis Cup 2021

ITF confirms four European venues to host Davis Cup group stages

The ITF has confirmed that the 2022 Davis Cup will base its group stage action in Glasgow, Bologna, Hamburg and Malaga come September. 

The British, Italian, German and Spanish sites will host play from 14-18th September and replace Innsbruck, Austria, Turin, Italy and Madrid, Spain from 2021.

More specifically, the venues are the Emirates Arena in Glasgow, the Unipol Arena in Bologna, the Hamburg-Rothenbaum in Hamburg and the Martin Carpena in Malaga.

The group stage schedule breaks from the 2021 format this year after player feedback urged the ITF to bring the group stages earlier in the calendar, separate from the Finals.

The Davis Cup Finals will take place from 23-27th November, the venue for which is yet to be announced.

The group stage will be comprised of 16 teams, three of whom were confirmed before qualifiers in March, being wildcards Great Britain and Serbia and 2021 finalists Croatia.

However, after defending champions the Russian Tennis Federation had its ITF membership suspended following Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, another wildcard spot was freed up.

The venue announcement added that that position will be filled by 2019 finalists Canada after they lost to the Netherlands in the Qualifiers in March.

The 12 teams that progressed through the qualifiers to also make the group stages are Argentina, Australia, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Kazakhstan, South Korea, The Netherlands, Spain, Sweden and the USA.

Finally, the draw for the Davis Cup group stage will take place in London, UK on Thursday 31st March at 3pm local time (2pm GMT).

The draw will be streamed live on the Davis Cup YouTube channel.

? Free >> Receive our legendary newsletter

Join >> Tennishead CLUB, the world’s only virtual tennis club

? Social >>Facebook, Twitter, Instagram & YouTube

? Order >> World’s best tennis magazine

? Shop >> Lowest price tennis gear from our trusted retail partner