Garbine Muguruza Indian Wells WTA 2021

Garbine Muguruza victory guarantees all-time first at WTA Finals

Garbine Muguruza has made sure history will be made by whoever goes on to win the title at the 2021 WTA Finals.

The Spaniard did not start her 2021 WTA Finals campaign well, losing to Karolina Pliskova in her first group match.

However, after defeating both Barbora Krejckova and Anett Kontaveit,  she has bounced back to qualify for the last four of the WTA Finals for the first time since 2015.

“Today was a match that was kind of everything or nothing,” Muguruza said following her victory over Kontaveit.

“Starting the round robin with a loss, it was never good. To finally get two wins and qualify was amazing.”

Muguruza, Paula Badosa and Kontaveit have now all taken their places in the semi-finals. Either Aryna Sabalenka or Maria Sakkari will join them there.

As a result, the WTA Finals will see a historic first regardless of who wins the title from those five competitors.

Muguruza and Badosa are Spanish, Kontaveit is Estonian, Sakkari Greek and Sabalenka Belarus.

No woman from Spain, Estonia, Greece or Belarus has ever won the WTA Finals.

Spaniard Arantxa Sanchez Vicario reached the final back in 1993, but lost to Steffi Graf. Belarusian Victoria Azarenka has also been a finalist, in 2011, but lost to Petra Kvitova that day.

Kontaveit and Sakkari are the first women from their respective nations ever to even qualify for the WTA Finals, let alone be in with a chance of winning the event.

? Read >> Breaking tennis news

? Follow >> 24/7 LIVE scores

? Free >> Receive our legendary newsletter

Join >> Tennishead CLUB, the world’s only virtual tennis club

? Social >> Facebook, Twitter, Instagram & YouTube

? Order >> World’s best tennis magazine

? Shop >> Lowest price tennis gear from our trusted retail partner