Lleyton Hewitt trophy

Hewitt, Ferrero among 2021 Hall of Fame nominees

The International Tennis Hall of Fame has announced the nominees for next year’s class, with the likes of Lleyton Hewitt and Juan Carlos Ferrero nominated for induction into the hall in Newport, Rhode Island. 


Hewitt won the US Open and Wimbledon and reached the final of the Australian Open during the prime of his career and spent 80 weeks as the world number one, becoming the youngest man in ATP history to hold the top spot. Ferrero is also a former world number, holding the top spot for eight weeks, and is a former French Open champion as well as a runner-up at the US Open. Another former ATP player nominated is Sergi Bruguera, who won back-to-back French Open titles in the early 1990s.

Doubles is also represented with Jonas Bjorkman and Lisa Raymond both receiving nominations. Bjorkman is a career Grand Slam winner in doubles, having won nine major tournaments, and spent 74 weeks on the top spot of the rankings. Raymond won 11 majors across doubles and mixed doubles, also completing the career Grand Slam, and was the WTA number one doubles player for 137 weeks.

The ‘Original 9’, who were so influential in the foundation of the WTA Tour, and legendary coach Dennis Van Der Meer have also been nominated.

Inductees are decided by a combination of a public vote and votes from board members. Any of those who do get inducted will be celebrated at a ceremony in Newport in 2021. 2020 inductees Conchita Martinez and Goran Ivanisevic will also be celebrated next summer after the 2020 ceremony was cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Tim Farthing, Tennishead Editorial Director & Owner, has been a huge tennis fan his whole life. He's a tennis journalist and entrepreneur as well as playing tennis to a national standard. He also helps manage his local club and volunteers for his local tennis organisation. He's a specialist in content about the administration of professional tennis and tennis coaching for all levels.