Australian Open Ambience 2021

Australian Open fast facts

The Australian Open was played on the grass at Kooyong for the last time in 1987 ahead of the move to Flinders Park – now known as Melbourne Park – in 1988.

Mats Wilander won the first event at the new venue, making him the only person in history to win the Australian Open on both grass and hard courts, having previously won the title in 1983 and 1984.

Tim Farthing, Tennishead Editorial Director & Owner, has been a huge tennis fan his whole life. He's a tennis journalist and entrepreneur as well as playing tennis to a national standard. He also helps manage his local club and volunteers for his local tennis organisation. He's a specialist in content about the administration of professional tennis and tennis coaching for all levels.