Top 10 winning streaks


Originally published on: 11/10/11 14:56

1.    Esther Vergeer – Streak: 429
The Dutch wheelchair player’s streak stretches all the way back to 2003. With 18 Grand Slam and three Paralympics singles titles to her name, Vergeer took hold of the number one ranking spot in 1999 and has not looked back. 

2.    Chris Evert – Streak: 125

The American’s run on clay stretched over six years from 1973 to 1979. If Nadal is the King of Clay, Evert is most definitely the Queen with seven French Open titles to her name.

3.    Rafael Nadal – Streak: 81

Nadal’s winning streak on clay from 2005 to 2007 is the longest single-surface unbeaten run in the open era of men’s tennis. The Spaniard’s domination on the dirt came to an end at the hands of Roger Federer. 

4.    Martina Navratilova – Streak: 74
After winning the 1984 US Open, the Czech maestro was the proud owner of the previous six Grand Slams. Her scintillating form was halted at the Australian Open when she eventually succumbed to Helena Sukova.

5.    Roger Federer – Streak: 65
The Swiss legend’s run on grass began in 2003, kick-starting a run of five Wimbledon titles in a row. Federer’s run came to an end in the epic 2008 Wimbledon final when he bowed out to Nadal in five sets.

6.    Roger Federer – Streak: 56

Federer’s consecutive wins on hard courts included the 2006 Australian Open title. However, like his grass court run, the streak was ended in the final of the Dubai Open by Nadal.

7.    Guillermo Vilas – Streak: 46

The Argentine holds the 35-year-old record for consecutive victories across all surfaces in men’s tennis.

8.    John McEnroe – Streak: 42

Djokovic’s great run at the start of the season fails to make our list but McEnroe’s record does. The American picked up the title for most consecutive wins to begin a season in 1984.

9.    Bjorn Borg – Streak: 33

The Swede holds the longest run for consecutive Davis Cup wins stretching from 1973 – 1980. A Borg-inspired Swedish team took the title in 1975. 

10.  Chris Evert – Streak: 29

Evert’s run of Fed Cup wins ran across an incredible nine years from 1977-1986. The Americans won an unprecedented eight titles during that period.


Tim Farthing, Tennishead Editorial Director & Owner, has been a huge tennis fan his whole life. He's a tennis journalist and entrepreneur as well as playing tennis to a national standard. He also helps manage his local club and volunteers for his local tennis organisation. He's a specialist in content about the administration of professional tennis and tennis coaching for all levels.