Cilic to defend Queen’s crown


Originally published on: 02/05/13 00:00

Cilic joins top-ten stars Andy Murray, Tomas Berdych, Juan Martin Del Potro and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga in committing to the ATP Tour 250 event which starts on June 10.

Four-time champion Lleyton Hewitt and 2010 winner Sam Querrey  have also added their names to the official entry list, as well as the highly-rated youngsters Grigor Dimitrov and Bernard Tomic.

"We have a strong sense of our history and celebrate our past champions at the Aegon Championships, so it's great to see Marin Cilic, Lleyton Hewitt and Sam Querrey returning," said tournament director, Chris Kermode.

"At the same time, it's particularly exciting to see young stars coming through. We all remember how a 17-year-old Boris Becker won the first title of his career at The Queen's Club in 1985, and then went on to win Wimbledon two weeks later, and we can't wait to see Dimitrov and Tomic in action this year."


Tim Farthing, Tennishead Editorial Director & Owner, has been a huge tennis fan his whole life. He's a tennis journalist and entrepreneur as well as playing tennis to a national standard. He also helps manage his local club and volunteers for his local tennis organisation. He's a specialist in content about the administration of professional tennis and tennis coaching for all levels.