Carlos Alcaraz - Miami Open 2023

Carlos Alcaraz reveals ‘sacrifices’ after winning Laureus Sports Award

Carlos Alcaraz has won the Laureus Sports Award for ‘Breakthrough of the year’, capping off a very successful week for the Spaniard after his triumph in Madrid.

Alcaraz became the second successive tennis player to win this prestigious award, after Emma Raducanu took home the gong in 2022 following her shock US Open triumph.

The 20-year-old beat nominees including Wimbledon champion Elena Rybakina, the Moroccan national football team, figure skater Nathan Chen, golfer Scottie Scheffler and athletics star Tobi Amusan to claim the award in Paris.

After receiving his award, Alcaraz said: “In my sport, I’m alone in the court, but there’s a team behind me and without them it would not be possible.”

He continued, “I’d like to thank them for everything we’ve been doing together and all the sacrifices and pain we go through.”

“There have been some hard times. The truth is that being able to overcome them with the support of my team and my family and to be able to win and to have this award means a lot to me.”

It caps off a very successful week for the US Open champion, who retained his Madrid Open title on Sunday and knows that if he plays a match in Rome will dethrone Novak Djokovic at the top of the rankings.

Carlos Alcaraz and other tennis Laureus Sports Award winners

As mentioned, Carlos Alcaraz is not the only tennis star to take home a Laureus Award in the 23-years that the ceremony has been running.

Here are the other names that have done so in the various different categories:

Sportsman of the year

  • Roger Federer (2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2018)
  • Rafael Nadal (2011, 2021)
  • Novak Djokovic (2012, 2015, 2016, 2019)

Sportswoman of the year

  • Jennifer Capriati (2002)
  • Serena Williams (2003, 2010, 2016, 2018)
  • Justine Henin (2008)
  • Naomi Osaka (2021)

Breakthrough of the year

  • Marat Safin (2001)
  • Rafael Nadal (2006)
  • Amelie Mauresmo (2007)
  • Andy Murray (2013)
  • Naomi Osaka (2019)
  • Emma Raducanu (2022)

Comeback of the year

  • Jennifer Capriati (2001)
  • Goran Ivanisevic (2002)
  • Martina Hingis (2006)
  • Serena Williams (2007)
  • Kim Clijsters (2010)
  • Rafael Nadal (2014)
  • Roger Federer (2018)

Sportsperson of the year with a disability

  • Esther Vergeer (2002, 2008)

 Join >> Receive $700/£600 of tennis gear from the Tennishead CLUB

 Social >> FacebookTwitter & YouTube

 Read >> World’s best tennis magazine

 Shop >> Lowest price tennis gear from our trusted partner 

Matthew Johns, Tennishead Writer, is a professional tennis journalist with a specialist degree in Sports Journalism. He's a keen tennis player having represented his local club and University plus he's also a qualified tennis coach. Matthew has a deep knowledge of tennis especially the ATP Tour and thrives on breaking big tennis news stories for Tennishead.