Novak Djokovic Australian Open 2019

Australian Open 2020: Men’s singles full preview

The 108th edition of the Australian Open will begin on January 20th and conclude on February 2nd, 2020. Alongside the US Open, the Australian Open is the only other Grand Slam event played on hard court. 


The first major of the year is the most developed of all Grand Slams, as it is only the major to have three retractable roofs. There have been questions around whether there will be delays to this year’s competition due to the bushfires in Australia. However, Australian Open chief executive, Craig Tiley has assured everyone that the tournament “is happening” and said matches will take place indoors under the roofs if the air quality becomes too hazardous.

Many of the game’s top men players have won the Australian Open. Rod Laver, Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal have all held the winner’s trophy and history could be made on the men’s side this year. Victory for Djokovic would give him a record eighth title in Melbourne. Nadal will become the only player in the men’s game to win every Grand Slam at least twice if he stands tall at the end. If Roger Federer secures his seventh crown, he will become a record 21-time Grand Slam champion.




Djokovic is once again the favourite to win. He won the tournament six times between 2010 – 2019 and dominated his rival, Rafael Nadal in straight sets to win the title last year. Djokovic may play sixth seed Stefanos Tsitsipas in the quarter-finals before a possible thriller against Roger Federer in the semi-finals.

Federer will start his campaign against Steve Johnson and could face world number 19, Grigor Dimitrov in the quarter-finals. Federer’s revival in Grand Slams started at the 2017 Australian Open when he fought back from a 1-3 deficit in the fifth set to defeat Rafael Nadal and win his first major in five years. Federer has not competed since the ATP World Tour Finals, but he has more big match experience than any of the players.

Nadal will try to snap his losing streak in Australian Open finals. He has lost his last four finals and will need to be at his best if he wants to win. He could play Nick Kyrgios in the fourth round, before a potential match against Dominic Thiem in the quarter-finals. Nadal’s success at the US Open in September, could give him the confidence he needs to win another hard court Grand Slam.

Danniil Medvedev may be the one to stop the dominance of the ‘Big Three’ at major championships. The Russian impressed many when he fought back from two sets to love down in the US Open final and nearly beat Nadal in five sets. Since then, Medvedev has won two titles and put on a strong performance at the ATP Cup this month. He must be sharp from the start as he meets 2019 Australian Open quarter-finalist, Frances Tiafoe in the first round.

Darkhorses for the title include 2014 champion, Stanislas Wawrinka and ATP World Tour Finals champion, Dominic Thiem.


Daniil Medvedev celebrates winning Shanghai Masters


Where is the tournament held?

The tournament is held at Melbourne Park


What dates does the tournament run?

January 20th – February 2nd, 2020


What surface is the tournament played on?

The tournament is played on outdoor hard courts with three of the courts having retractable roofs


How many players and seeds are in the men’s draw?

There are a total of 128 women and 32 seeds in the singles


Prize money, Men’s Singles:

Winner – $4,120,000

Finalist – $2,065,000

Semi-finalist – $1,040,000

Quarter-finalist – $525,000

Round of 16 – $300,000

Round of 32 – $180,000

Second round – $128,000

First round – $90,000


Rankings points, Men’s Singles:

Winner – 2000 points

Finalist – 1300 points

Semi-finalist – 780 points

Quarter-finalist – 430 points

Round of 16 – 240 points

Round of 32 – 130 points

Second round – 70 points

First round – 10 points



Where can I buy tickets for the tournament?

Tickets are sold here


How can I follow the tournament without going there?

You can find out how to watch the 2020 Australian Open by reading our guide to tennis on TV

You can also follow the tournament through their official Twitter here


Past champions – Men’s Singles:

2019 – Novak Djokovic

2018 – Roger Federer

2017 – Roger Federer

2016 – Novak Djokovic

2015 – Novak Djokovic

2014 – Stanislas Wawrinka

2013 – Novak Djokovic

2012 – Novak Djokovic

2011 – Novak Djokovic

2010 –  Roger Federer

2009 – Rafael Nadal

Keep up to date with all the action at our tennis news section. Win amazing tennis prizes by entering our competitions. Learn more about your favourite players including Roger Federer, Rafa Nadal and Novak Djokovic. Check out the latest kit in our tennis gear reviews. Receive regular updates with our legendary newsletter or read in depth features with stunning photography in tennishead magazine. Can’t visit the tournaments you love? Check out our guide on how to watch tennis on TV. Don’t miss a thing with our Live Scores service. Follow tennishead on social media at Facebook, Twitter, Instagram & YouTube

Tim Farthing, Tennishead Editorial Director & Owner, has been a huge tennis fan his whole life. He's a tennis journalist and entrepreneur as well as playing tennis to a national standard. He also helps manage his local club and volunteers for his local tennis organisation. He's a specialist in content about the administration of professional tennis and tennis coaching for all levels.