Andy Murray 2020 schedule

Andy Murray tournament schedule 2020

British tennis legend Andy Murray made an impressive comeback in 2019 after previously announcing he was considering retirement due to a hip injury.


Andy Murray began his 2019 season in Brisbane winning his first match against James Duckworth in straight sets 6-3, 6-4 before losing to Daniil Medvedev in the next round. He then entered the Austraila open but fell at the first hurdle in a long 5 set battle to Spanish player Robert Bautista Agut. Murray then held an emotional press conference where he announced that he may have to retire from tennis due to his physical struggles specifically with his hip. He’d had surgery on the hip in January 2018 and had a further surgery in January 2019.

Murray spent the first few months of 2019 recovering so missed several tournaments. The star however revealed in March 2019 that he was pain free and would be returning to playing professional tennis. Murray didn’t return to playing singles straight away, instead he chose to test his fitness by playing doubles. After some doubles success most notably winning the Queen’s Club event with Feliciano Lopez, he returned to singles play at the Western and Southern Open 2019, losing in the first round. However, the Scottish star completed an extraordinary comeback a few tournaments later at the European Open 2019 where he advanced all the way to the final. He defeated Stan Wawrinka in a three-set match 3-6, 6-4, 6-4 to claim his first ATP title win since Dubai 2017.

Andy Murray started the 2019 season at No.230 on the ATP tour rankings and climbed an impressive 105 places to No.125 by the end of the year. Will Murray be able to make a return to the Top 10 in the 2020 season for the first time since October 2017?

For more Andy Murray news click here

Andy Murray provisional 2020 schedule is as follows:



Brisbane International (January 6 – 12)

Australian Open (January 20 – February 2)

Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships (February 17 – 29)



BNP Paribas Open (March 9 – 22)



Rolex Monte-Carlo Masters (April 13 – 19)

Barcelona Open Banc Sabadell (April 20 – 26)



Mutua Madrid Open (May 4 – 10)

Roland Garros (May 24 – June 7)



Fever-Tree Championships (June 15 – 21)

Nature Valley International (June 19 – 27)



Wimbledon (June 29 – July 12)



Citi Open ( August 1 – 9)

Western and Southern Open (August 15 – 23)

Winston-Salem Open (August 24 – 30)



Zhuhai Championships (September 27 – October 4)



China Open (October 4 – 11)

Rolex Shanghai Masters (October 11 – 18)

European Open (October 18 – 25)


Look ahead to the rest of the tennis year with our guides to every tournament on the ATP Tour and WTA Tour. Can’t visit the tournaments you love? Read our guide on how to watch all the ATP Tour matches on TV. For more news, explore Tennishead magazine here or subscribe to our free email newsletter here.

Tim Farthing, Tennishead Editorial Director & Owner, has been a huge tennis fan his whole life. He's a tennis journalist and entrepreneur as well as playing tennis to a national standard. He also helps manage his local club and volunteers for his local tennis organisation. He's a specialist in content about the administration of professional tennis and tennis coaching for all levels.